Wu lab Alumni 


Postdoctoral Scholars 


1) Jian-Hua Wang, PhD (2005–2009)

  • Current position: Professor with tenure, the Institut Pasteur of Shanghai, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Shanghai, China

2) Chunsheng Dong, PhD (2006–2008)

  • Current position: Professor with tenure, Suchoow University, Suzhou, China. 

3) Torsten Wurm, PhD (2007–2007)

  • Current position: Senior Scientist, East Carolina University, Greenville, NC, USA

4) Hongwei Ma, PhD (2009–2010)

  •  Current position: Senior Scientist, University of Kansas, Kansas City, KS, USA

5) Nidhanapati Raghavendra, PhD (2009–2011)

  • Current position: Associate Professor with tenure, Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad, India

6) Christopher Coleman, PhD (2009–2012)

  • Current position: Assistant Professor, The University of Nottingham, UK

7) Corine St. Gelais, PhD (2010–2019, Senior Research Associate since 2014) 

  • Recipient of a travel award from the Ohio State University (OSU) Public Health Preparedness for Infectious Diseases Program 2013
  • 2017 OSU Staff Career Development Grant 
  • 2017 Outstanding Staff Service Award, CVM, OSU 
  • Current position: Grant and Contract Specialist, Corporate Engagement Office, OSU 

8) Suresh de Silva, PhD (2010–2015, Research Scientist since 2013) 

  •  Winner of the First Place of Travel Award for Short Talk Presentation at the Research Retreat of the Center for Microbial Interface Biology, OSU, 04/2013
  •  Current position: Vice President of Product Development at Shattuck Labs, Inc. Durham, NC

9) Christopher McKee, PhD (2013–2014)

  • Current position: Senior Microbiologist, Richter International, Columbus, OH

10) Karthik M. Kodigepalli, PhD (2015–2017) 

  • Outstanding poster award –basic science category at the Annual OSU Cancer Center Scientific Meeting, 2017 
  •  Travel Award through the Platform Presentation, 2017 CVM Research Day 
  •  Current position: Research Scientist at Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI

11) Serena Bonifati, PhD (2015–2019) 

  • Recipient of the OSU Center for RNA Biology Travel Award ($1,000) to attend the Frontiers of Retrovirology Conference, Belgium, Sept. 2018 
  • Current position: Staff Scientist, Sibylla Biotech, S.R.L., Trento, Italy 

12) Nagaraja Tirumuru, PhD (2014–2019)

  • Current position: Virologist at Reckitt Benckiser company, New Jersey 

13) Wuxun Lu, PhD (2016–2019)

  • Current position: Scientist at the Ohio State University 

14) Shuliang Chen, PhD (2016–2019) 

  • A postdoctoral scholar partially supported by the China Scholar Council (2016-2018) 
  • Current position: Associate Professor, Wuhan University, China


Graduate Students 


1) Alicia Janas, MS, 2006–2009. Medical College of Wisconsin

  • Current position: Microbiologist, the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Des Moines, IA

2) Sirena Coon, MS, 2010–2012. Ohio State University (OSU) 

  • Winner of 2012 Distinguished Graduate Publication Award (the 2nd place), Department of Veterinary Biosciences
  • Current position: Senior Research Technologist, Lerner Research Institute, Cleveland, OH

3) Jonathan Roger, MS, 2013–2014. Ohio State University

  • Current position: Research Technician, Nationwide Children’s Hospital Research Institute, Columbus, OH

4) Feifei Wang, PhD, 2012–2015. Ohio State University 

  • Recipient of the C. Glenn Barber Fellowship (2013-2015)
  • 2nd place winner of Oral Presentations at the 2015 Hayes Graduate Research Forum
  • Current position: Senior Scientist, R&D Systems, Bio-Techne, Shanghai, China 

5) Rebecca Kohnken, DVM, PhD. 2014–2016. Ohio State University 

  • OSU fellowship recipient 2013-2014 
  • Recipient of NIH T32 Institutional Research Training Award, 2015-2017 
  • Current position: Principal Pathologist at AbbVie, Chicago, IL 

6) Jenna Antonucci, PhD. 2013-2018. Microbiology program, Ohio State University 

  • OSU fellowship recipient 2013-2014 
  • Recipient of a fellowship from the HHMI Med into Grad Scholar Program 2014-2015 
  • Winner of the travel awards at 2016 CVM Research Day; annual Symposium of Center for RNA Biology
  • Recipient of the C. Glenn Barber Fellowship (2016-2018) 
  • Winner, 2017 Graduate Student Travel Award, the Department of Microbiology
  • Poster award winner: 2018 The American Society of Microbiology Ohio Branch Meeting 
  • Current position: Postdoc Researcher, Dr. Lee Gehrke’s lab, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

7) Zhihua Qin, PhD. 2016-2020. Comparative and Veterinary Medicine Graduate Program, Ohio State University 

  • Scholarship recipient from China Scholar Council (2016-2020) 
  • Recipient of the C. Glenn Barber Fellowship (2018-2020) 
  • Winner of the Alumni Grants for Graduate Research and Scholarship in April 2019 
  • Current position: Postdoc Researcher, Dr. Mark Philips’s lab, New York University Grossman School of Medicine


Undergraduate Students 

1) Rachel Patejak

  • University of Iowa (graduate with Honors in May 2022)